To Educators: Happy New Year!

At her acceptance speech for the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, Ellen DeGeneres mentioned the following:  “I never could have imagined that my life would end up this way.  I didn’t think I’d have my own show, I didn’t think I’d end up being in movies, I didn’t think I’d have a talk show, I didn’t think that I would be a CoverGirl.  I just thought that I’d be a closeted gay comedian wearing parachute pants.”

Funny, but instructive!

Ellen’s comment reminded me of a former boss who once mentioned how the new year is a great time to re-tune, re-tool, re-focus, and re-energize your life’s and your work’s purpose.

What did you think you’d become?  What can you now think about becoming?

For Educators and education leaders, this is a great time to get your staff, your students, your colleagues, and others who look to you as a model to think about what think they can become.

This can set the stage for markedly improved work in preK-12 and beyond in 2013.

Happy new year!

JW

Leave a Reply

